The SAS is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization. It is governed by its Board who appoint and vote for its officers on an annual basis.  Members, interested in a position on the board are welcome to contact us here.  All information pertaining to the running of the Society, including election of officers, can be found in the Society for Animation Studies Bylaws. As a principle of operation, Board Members can serve up to a maximum of five years in their appointed role.

Board members

Role Name Affiliation/Region
Chairperson of the Board Pamela Turner Virginia Commonwealth University, USA (Start: 2018)
President Chris Pallant Canterbury Christ Church University, UK (Start: 2019)
Vice President, Awards Oversight Amy Ratelle University of Toronto, CAN (Start: 2019)
Secretary Mihaela Mihailova University of Michigan, USA (Start: 2019)
Treasurer Tim Jones Robert Morris University, USA (Start: 2020)
Student member Jason Cody Douglass Waseda University, Japan (Start: 2020)
Member At Large & Social Media Officer Cristina Formenti University of Udine, IT (Start: 2018)
Member At Large Nichola Dobson University of Edinburgh, UK (Start: 2019)
Member At Large Tony Tarantini Sheridan College, CAN (Start: 2017)


Officers are members of the society that help run the organisation in different capacities.

Role Name Affiliation/Region
Webmaster Timo Linsenmaier DE
Membership Officer Tim Jones Robert Morris University, USA
Newsletter Editor Lilly Husbands Middlesex University, UK
Newsletter Editor Christopher Holliday King’s College London, UK
Historian Charles daCosta Queensland University of Technology, AUS
Awards and Outreach Committee Chair Peter Chanthanakone University of Iowa, US